Church of Our Lady Queen of Peace
4 Sandy Lane, Singapore 437321
With the perseverance of Father Dupoirieux, who was assigned to build the church, and the prayers of many faithful, the Church of Our Lady Queen of Peace was finally established and blessed on 4th April 1954.
At the turn of the 20th century, Katong and Telok Kurau were only busy fishing villages. The eastern part of Singapore started getting busier when the East Coast Road was completed in 1911, enabling easier access to the area. Soon, the Katong area grew in popularity not only as a resort area, but also as a residential area after the World War I.
The Church of the Holy Family was built in 1936 in principle and in fact for the Eurasian Community. However the Chinese-speaking Catholics were still expected to travel to the various Catholic Churches in town, depending on the dialects they spoke. With the growing number of Chinese-speaking Catholics in the East, a decision was made to build a Church in the East that would cater to the Catholics in the Tanjong Katong area, known to be a predominantly Chinese neighbourhood. Although developmental plans for the church were made and funds were being raised, things took a step back when World War II broke out and Singapore was placed under the Japanese Occupation.
However, with the perseverance of Father Dupoirieux, who was assigned to build the church, and the prayers of many faithful, the Church of Our Lady Queen of Peace was finally established and blessed on 4th April 1954. The directive to make parishes territorial units rather than based on linguistics came in 1958, thus making every parish serve the needs of Catholics in the area rather than by the languages they spoke.
Yet given the high proportion of Chinese-speaking Catholics in the area, Mandarin masses were introduced in the Church in 1961. Although the church building was completed in 1954, it was only in 1962 that a parish hall was added to the compound.
One highlight of the Church in the 1970s would be when the Pilgrim Virgin Statue of Our Lady of Fatima came to the Church in 1978 when the statue was making her pilgrimage rounds in Singapore.
Father Carlo Ly had the distinction of being the longest-service parish priest for the Church of Our Lady Queen of Peace. He spent 34 years with the parish, until his retirement in 2001. Under his charge, Queen of Peace Church was the first to offer Rites of Christian Initiation for Adults (RCIA) in Mandarin in Singapore in 1988. Father Ly was also responsible for starting the first Mandarin-speaking Catholic charismatic prayer group in the Diocese and he translated the Parish Renewal Experience programme into Mandarin for his parish.
Then sometime in 2013, after the air conditioning gave way, and the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) advised to have certain parts of the church rewired, Father Joachim Chang, parish priest, decided to renew the place and embarked on major renovations of the church. The renovated church was completed in time for the Church’s Diamond Jubilee celebrations on 26th April 2015, where Archbishop William Goh formally consecrated the Church of Our Lady Queen of Peace.